Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor
Community College

Westcountry Schools Trust (WeST)

Stronger together . . . every child in a great school



South Dartmoor Community College (SDCC) is part of Westcountry Schools Trust (WeST); a tight knit family of schools based around natural geographical proximity in the South West.

Initially formed as a small multi academy trust of only two schools in 2011 the Trust has experienced several iterations of growth and change.

In essence WeST, as we recognise it today, was launched in September 2017 with the ambition of delivering exceptional education for 2-19 years olds with the additional ability to provide both undergraduate and postgraduate study through The Learning Institute (TLI). While school trusts are now common place across the educational landscape, WeST significantly differs from many by not only having a Teaching School but through its Higher Education provision via TLI.

Including SDCC, the WeST family now extends to 22 schools of which 7 are secondary and 15 primary. All 15 primary schools naturally transition children into a WeST secondary school, an area of work we wish to further strengthen as our work matures. 

WeST holds a firm belief in giving each child every opportunity to learn and succeed in all that they do.  Whilst we are a family of schools who share common values and beliefs, all our schools are unique and hold their own identity.  We believe that by working collectively, sharing what works well and jointly developing best practice, we are stronger together and can provide the very best education for our children in our geographical area. 

We have a pride in our schools, staff and children, and thrive on the constant challenge to do better.  All our children are our collective responsibility.

For more information about the Trust, please click here.

Rob Haring

WeST Chief Executive Officer