Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor
Community College

Reports & Progress

YEAR 7-10 SUMMER Term Report guide 2024

Please click here

YEAR 11 Report Guide - March 2024

Please click here

YEAR 12 Report Guide - SUMMER 2024

Please click here

YEAR 13 Report Guide - March 2024

Please click here

How We Assess Core Knowledge in Years 7-10 summer 2024

Please click here

how we assess core knowledge in year 12 summer 2024

Please click here

How We Assess Core Knowledge in YearS 11-13 January 2024

Please click here


What is the EBacc?

The EBacc, also known as the English Baccalaureate, is a set of subjects at GCSE that keeps young people’s options open for further study and future careers.

The EBacc is made up of:

  • English language and literature
  • maths
  • the sciences (combined or separate)
  • geography or history
  • a language

What impact does the EBacc have?

The EBacc is made up of the subjects which are considered essential to many degrees and open up lots of doors.

Research shows that a student’s socio-economic background impacts the subjects they choose at GCSE, and that this determines their opportunities beyond school.

A study by the UCL Institute of Education shows that studying subjects included in the EBacc provides students with greater opportunities in further education and increases the likelihood that a student will stay on in full-time education. Sutton Trust research reveals that studying the EBacc can help improve a young person’s performance in English and maths.


Understanding Progress 8 – Information for Parents and Carers


What is Progress 8?

  • Progress 8 is a secondary accountability measure aimed at measuring the progress of pupils across a selected set of 8 subjects.
  • It is a type of value added measure, meaning that pupils’ results are compared to the actual achievements of other pupils with the same prior attainment.



What is Attainment 8?

  • Attainment 8 is a measure of a pupil’s average grade across a set suite of eight subjects. Grades will be measured on a 1-8 point score scale, rather than the current 16-58 scale. On this scale, 1 is equivalent to a Grade G GCSE, 4 is equivalent to a Grade C and 7 is equivalent to a Grade A GCSE.

The Attainment 8 “buckets”

  • The Attainment 8 measure will take the average of a pupils points across a set of their best 8 subjects.
  • The 8 qualifications that count towards the Attainment 8 measure must fall into one of three “buckets.” If a qualification does not fall into one of these buckets, it is not counted in the attainment 8 (or progress 8) measure.