Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor
Community College


Sixth Form Staff

The Sixth Form Management Team 

The Sixth Form benefits from its own management team who oversee the strategic direction and performance of the Sixth Form as well ensuring the day to day running of the establishment is safe and effective.

Mrs Kirsty Matthews

Deputy Principal: Director of Post 16

Responsible for: Curriculum and Study Programmes, Assessment and Data, Post 16 Teaching and Learning, Quality Assurance, DFE, EFSA and Ofsted Compliance, Post 16 Safeguarding Lead, Pastoral Provision,  Progression, Post 16 Bursary.

email: Mrs Kirsty Matthews

Mr Adam Fox

Deputy Director of Post 16: Head of Year 13 and KS5 Sport and PE Leader

Responsible for: Student Performance, Safeguarding and Welfare, Attendance, Retention, Progression and Enrichment. Sport and PE Curriculum and Enrichment Leader.

email: Mr Adam Fox


Deputy Director of Post 16: Head of Year 12 and Vocational Curriculum Leader

Responsible for: Student Performance, Safeguarding and Welfare, Attendance, Retention, Progression and Enrichment.

email: Mr Neil Whitelaw

Ms Julie Randell

Careers Coordinator and Child Care Curriculum Leader

Responsible for: Post 16 Work Experience, Careers Advice, Referrals to Independent Careers Advice Service, Liaison with external Careers Agencies, Coordinating and organising careers events such as Annual Careers Fair. Child Care Curriculum Leader.

email: Ms Julie Randell

Mr Allan Sutton

RISE Coordinator, Critical Thinking, Extended Project and AQA Baccalaureate Curriculum Leader

Responsible for: Oxbridge and Russell Group Universities Liaison and Entry Programme, Post 16 High Performance Support.

email: Mr Allan Sutton


The Sixth Form Non-Teaching Team 

We have a very friendly non-teaching team of staff at Sixth Form who maintain the ‘family feel’ and keep everybody organised, fed, watered and safe at Place House.

Ms Penny Clark

Sixth Form Communications Officer

Responsible for : Admissions, UCAS applications, Sixth Form events and promotions, Sixth Form reception and switchboard, first aid, secretarial assistance to management team, enquiries and tours, bursary and transport administration.

email: Ms Penny Clark

Mrs Kim Stepney

Sixth Form Data Manager

Responsible for: SIMs course manager, reports, census and ALPs administration.

email: Mrs Kim Stepney

Mrs Julia Webber

Attendance Officer

Responsible for: Maintaining and reporting on student attendance.

email: Mrs Julia Webber

Mrs Theresa Stevens

Head of Sixth Form Catering

Responsible for: The preparation and service of food at Place House Sixth Form

email: Mrs Theresa Stevens

Mr Martyn Matthews

Sixth Form Site Manager

Responsible for: Maintenance of building and facilities at Place House Sixth Form

email: Mr Martyn Matthews


The Sixth Form Tutor Team 

The role of the sixth form tutor is a key factor in the success of our students. The tutor’s primary role is to support their tutor group to achieve their full potential and the achievement of their target grades through close individual tracking and monitoring of their progress related to their curriculum pathway, their attendance and overall pastoral welfare. The tutor is the key contact for each student, their parents/carers and the tutee's teachers.  

Tutors act as a role model to their tutor group and lead them in developing a positive work ethos and ensuring that the sixth form experience is a fun and enriching one for them. Tutors guide students to observe the sixth form policies and procedures.

Being a sixth form tutor is a truly rewarding experience. Tutors and their tutees develop professional relationships of the highest quality. Our tutors love supporting their students to navigate their way through the challenges and triumphs of their time in sixth form and guiding them on their way to exciting and fulfilling progression routes.

Mrs Claire Buckler

(Year 13 BKL Tutor Group) and Computer Science Curriculum Leader

email: Mrs Claire Buckler

Miss Nicola Bush

(Year 13 BUS Tutor Group) and Psychology Curriculum Leader

email: Miss Nicola Bush

Miss Gemma Craze

(Year 13 CRZ Tutor Group) and teacher of Business and Economics

email: Miss Gemma Craze

Mr William Turner

(Year 13 TNE Tutor Group) and Mathematics KS5 Curriculum Leader

email: Mr William Turner

Mr Martin O’Halloran

(Year 13 HRN Tutor Group) and Sociology and Health and Social Care Curriculum Leader

email: Mr Martin O’Halloran

Mr Tony Veevers

(Year 13 VEV Tutor Group) and GCSE Sport and PE and Apprenticeship Curriculum Leader

email: Mr Tony Veevers

Mrs Samantha Brooks

(Year 12 BKS Tutor Group) and Head of Economics, Business and Enterprise Learning Institute Lead Tutor and SDCC Curriculum Leader

email: Mrs Samantha Brooks

Dr Laura Burgos-Lejonagoitia

(Year 12 BUR Tutor Group) and teacher of MFL

email: Dr Laura Burgos-Lejonagoitia

Ms Lisa Gasson-Jones

(Year 12/13 GSN Tutor Group – Hairdressing Vocational Students Only) and Hairdressing Curriculum Leader

email: Ms Lisa Gasson-Jones

Mr Nick Long

(Year 12 and 13 LON Tutor Group – Atrium Students Only) and Science Curriculum Leader at Atrium Studio School.

email: Mr Nick Long

Mr Ben Lovick

(Year 12 LVK Tutor Group) Deputy Head of Science and Physics Curriculum Leader.

email: Mr Ben Lovick

Mr John Whitehead

(Year 12 WHD Tutor Group) and teacher of Dance and Initial Teacher Training and NQT Coordinator

email: Mr John Whitehead

Mr Ed Tomlin

(Year 12 TMN Tutor Group) and teacher of 3D Art, Fine Art and Photography

email: Mr Ed Tomlin

Mr Jim Lodge

(Year 12 LDG Tutor Group) and Science teacher

email: Mr Jim Lodge