Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor
Community College

Reports & Progress


At SDCC reports are sent home three times a year, electronically where possible, to parents and carers as well as a paper version for students.  Further information on the assessment procedures and the learning outcomes for each subject are provided through the links on this page.

The SDCC Curriculum on a Page and Assessment Criteria for Years 7 and 8 (KS3) have a section for each subject giving explicit criteria for the learning expectations and outcomes for the year. These will give a reference point to the student’s end of year forecast grades. 

At KS4 (Years 9 – 11) students are working towards the GCSE criteria which uses the 9 – 1 grading system, 9 being the highest grade.

Should you have any questions please feel free to use the following link to email your query and it will be forwarded to the teacher/department in question.



What is the EBacc?

The EBacc, also known as the English Baccalaureate, is a set of subjects at GCSE that keeps young people’s options open for further study and future careers.

The EBacc is made up of:

  • English language and literature
  • maths
  • the sciences (combined or separate)
  • geography or history
  • a language

What impact does the EBacc have?

The EBacc is made up of the subjects which are considered essential to many degrees and open up lots of doors.

Research shows that a student’s socio-economic background impacts the subjects they choose at GCSE, and that this determines their opportunities beyond school.

A study by the UCL Institute of Education shows that studying subjects included in the EBacc provides students with greater opportunities in further education and increases the likelihood that a student will stay on in full-time education. Sutton Trust research reveals that studying the EBacc can help improve a young person’s performance in English and maths.


Understanding Progress 8 – Information for Parents and Carers


What is Progress 8?

  • Progress 8 is a secondary accountability measure aimed at measuring the progress of pupils across a selected set of 8 subjects.
  • It is a type of value added measure, meaning that pupils’ results are compared to the actual achievements of other pupils with the same prior attainment.



What is Attainment 8?

  • Attainment 8 is a measure of a pupil’s average grade across a set suite of eight subjects. Grades will be measured on a 1-8 point score scale, rather than the current 16-58 scale. On this scale, 1 is equivalent to a Grade G GCSE, 4 is equivalent to a Grade C and 7 is equivalent to a Grade A GCSE.

The Attainment 8 “buckets”

  • The Attainment 8 measure will take the average of a pupils points across a set of their best 8 subjects.
  • The 8 qualifications that count towards the Attainment 8 measure must fall into one of three “buckets.” If a qualification does not fall into one of these buckets, it is not counted in the attainment 8 (or progress 8) measure.